Tags

, , ,

Over the weekend, SuperDad and I (mostly SuperDad) cleaned out the garage.  It was not a job for the faint of heart.  To our surprise, we didn’t actually find any trolls living under all the junk.

Achtung Troll!

No trolls here.  Don’t tell the Geeklets.

Alas, I do not have a “before” pic.  Wish I had thought of that!  My gentle readers would have been astounded that there were no trolls.  I do, however, have an “after” pic.

There's almost enough room for a car in there!

There’s almost enough room for a car in there!

Yes, that is the “after” pic.  Don’t laugh.

I consider cleaning out the garage to be our symbolic once-every-few-years nod to Spring Cleaning.  This is not something we normally do — neither Spring Cleaning nor garage cleaning — so I am inordinately proud of us that we actually got it done this year.

Side note: why is Spring Cleaning specifically Spring Cleaning?  What did Spring ever do to deserve the assumption that this sort of drudgery is necessary for a fruitful and complete season?  Why isn’t it Summer Cleaning, Fall Cleaning, or Winter Cleaning?  I must Google this at some point today, or I won’t be able to sleep tonight.

Back to the topic at hand.  We still have junk in the garage.  It’s just organized junk, now.  Definitely not habitable by any self-respecting trolls.  Again, don’t tell the Geeklets; I’m afraid they’d be disappointed.

Even our intimidating tangle of Christmas lights has been sort-of sorted.

Christmas lights, looking slightly less scary than normal.

Christmas lights, looking slightly less scary than normal.

I wasn’t even present in the garage when SuperDad took on that challenge.  Whew!  I’m glad I missed what must have been an epic battle.  I’m afraid I would have been overly emotional had I been there.

One other development of note: we discovered an extra door.  Yes, an extra door.

The surprisingly extra door.  Too bad it doesn't lead to Narnia.

The surprisingly extra door. Too bad it doesn’t lead to Narnia.

Hmmm . . . perhaps there were trolls living in the garage, after all.

