Tags

, , , , , ,

Last night, or rather very early this morning (like, just after midnight), I finished reading this:

The well-read book.

The well-read book.

First thing after getting dressed today, I pulled this off my to-read shelf:

The un-read book.

The un-read book.

Finishing a book is a bitter-sweet thing.  If it’s a good ending, you’ll get some closure for the characters and thus for yourself and for the relationship you’ve developed with them.   If it’s a bad ending, well . . . you can always diss the book on your blog.

In either case, saying goodbye can feel a little sad.

Anyhow, the ending of The Fallen Angel was a decent one.  The bad guy gets what’s coming for him, the good guy takes care of business, etc, etc, etc.  Overall, I can’t say it was one of the better books I’ve read, but it was entertaining enough to be worth the $12 or so I spent on it.

The main thing that made The Fallen Angel less than great is that the author didn’t do quite enough research into Catholicism — he got a few vital details wrong.  I’m a cradle Catholic and those few incorrect details jumped off the page and smacked me in the face, like, “Oh, hello!  This is what non-Catholics think of you and your religion!”  It was slightly insulting and eye-roll inducing.  But, whatever.  It’s a novel.  Don’t believe everything you read, people!

And now I’m all excited, because I get to start reading The Help!  Yay!  I have not seen the movie, and all I know about the story is what I read on the back of the book, what I saw in the trailer for the film, and, of course, the fact that both the book and the movie got all sorts of good reviews.  I expect to thoroughly enjoy reading this book.

Has anyone out there in my little corner of the blogosphere seen the movie, read the book, or thought about doing either?  I’m wondering how the movie measures up to the novel . . .

