Tags

, , , , , , ,

Every time I hear or read the typical spiel about overpopulation, I have to roll my eyes.

It seems like almost everyone in this world is confused: this world does not have an overpopulation problem.  Some areas do have an overcrowding problem; but overcrowding and overpopulation are not the same thing.

This is what overcrowding looks like:

Personal space, anyone?

Personal space, anyone?

And this is what overpopulation looks like:

Home, home on the range . . .

Home, home on the range . . .

Yeah.  Because overpopulation doesn’t really exist.

The above photo of the lack of overpopulation is actually a pic of an area in West Texas, where I used to live.  No, I didn’t live in that exact spot with only the occasional tumbleweed and road runner as friends.  I lived in a normal neighborhood in the center of Midland.

The thing is, I could get in the car and drive for twenty minutes in any direction and find myself in the middle of nowhere.

Anyone who believes in overpopulation needs to get in a plane, fly over West Texas, and look out the window.  That’ll fix ’em.

And it’s not just Texas that has a lack of overpopulation; it’s the whole world.  As the famous (infamous?) Michelle Duggar, Super Mom of Super Large Family, said in this article, ” . . . the entire population of the world, if they were stood shoulder to shoulder, could fit in the city limits of Jacksonville,” which goes to show: people who believe there’s too many people are some seriously confused / mistaken / misled people.

Just think how much good a few billion more people could do.  Think how many more people there would be doing research to find a cure for cancer — or for any disease.  Think how many more people would be developing clean-energy technology.  Think how strong our economy and the economy of the world would be!  Hey, it’s supply and demand, people; supply and demand.

This world is demanding that things get better now, but there aren’t enough people to supply that kind of change.  And yet, popular opinion is that there’s too many people . . . it kinda looks like most of us failed Economics 101.  Not to mention Logic 101.

Sigh.

Ok, I’ll step off my soapbox now.  I promise tomorrow’s blog post will be back on the lighthearted side of things.  In the mean time, I’ll leave you with Grumpy Cat:

Have a nice day!

Have a nice day!

