Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

We all have our weaknesses.  In this house, our communal weakness is collecting.

The Geeklets collect things like dry Play-Doh chips, headless Lego men, and half-used lollipops.

Told you.

Told you.

SuperDad collects sharp objects, including katanas, rapiers, and various other styles of swords, not to mention all sorts of knives and daggers.  And ninja throwing stars.  Not kidding.

Just of few of SuperDad's large sword collection.  He keeps the nice ones inside the house. Potential home invaders, beware.

Just of few of SuperDad’s large sword collection. He keeps the nice ones inside the house. Potential home invaders, beware.

An Yours Truly . . . what do I collect?  Books, of course.

My current to-read stack.

My current to-read stack.

I was looking at my Goodreads “to read” list, wondering how long it will take me to get through all those novels by Neal Stephenson, Ken Follett, Dorothy L. Sayers, etc., and then I realized that I already have a bunch of books at home to get through.

At first glance it didn’t look so bad, but then I looked at another shelf in the bookcase and decided to take inventory.

I have at least 13 un-read books languishing in my home at the moment, and that was just from a cursory inspection!  And it also doesn’t count the book I’m in the middle of: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest, by Stieg Larsson.  (Did you know that all three novels in the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson were published posthumously?  Pretty cool . . . to my weird self, at least.)

Anyhow, I decided that I’m not allowed to buy any more books until I read the ones I already have.  At least, I’m gonna try to not let myself buy any more.  For a confirmed book-addict such as Yours Truly, this is going to be hard.

What kinds of stuff do you guys collect?

 

