Tags

, , , , ,

I was just thinking the other day how different things are for me now that I have a house full of Geeklets.  Here’s what I came up with:

 

I used to write poetry. Then I had kids.

 

poetry book

None of my poetry was ever featured in this book.  (Photo credit: letrerias)

 

I used to cook. Then I had kids.

 

Plate Fancy

I never cooked like that, though. (Photo credit: chrissam42)

 

I used to design and sew my own clothing. Then I had kids.

 

Evening gown

A dress I did not design or sew. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I used to clean house. Then I had kids.

 

The living room in Elvis Presley's mansion, Gr...

My house was never *this* clean. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

And then I realized:

 

I no longer write poetry (often), but I blog instead, and work on short fiction on the side, both of which are frequently inspired by my kids.

 

I no longer cook lasagna or anything more complicated than beef stew. I bake a lot of brownies and banana bread, instead. Much more kid-friendly than lasagna. Oh, and the Geeklets help me bake, cook, set the table, clear the table, do the dishes, and sweep the floor after all is said and done. I let the six-year-old empty the dishwasher last night and he was ecstatic. I’m not kidding.

 

Kraft Easy Mac

Dinner!  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

As far as designing and sewing my own clothing . . . well. That’s one I was never super good at anyway. I do still occasionally make a sundress or twirly skirt for my little Geeklet girl.

 

And no, I no longer live in a house that could be featured in Better Homes & Gardens. I live in a house that’s full to overflowing with life, laughter, and love, instead.

 

So, yeah, my life has changed a lot since I’ve had kids — for the better.

 

Happy Valentine’s Day, Geeklets.

 

Be my Valentine?

Be my Valentine?

 

