Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Remember this old gem by Robert Louis Stephenson?

The rain is raining all around,
It falls on field and tree,
It rains on the umbrellas here,
And on the ships at sea.

How about this one?

Rain, rain, go away,
Come again some other day.
Little Johnny wants to play;
Rain, rain, go away!

Or my personal rain-y favorite:

It’s raining, it’s pouring
The old man is snoring
He went to bed with a cold in his head
And he didn’t get up in the morning.

Although the last two lines could be “He went to bed and bumped his head / And couldn’t get up in the morning,” I prefer the cold-in-the-head version. Makes more sense to me. Hey, I don’t feel like getting out of bed in the morning when I have a cold. Does anyone? Good job, old man, for keeping your butt in bed when you have the opportunity!

At any rate, we’re having a rainy day here. So far it has involved the normal doing-of-schoolwork:

We have a love / hate relationship with math.

We have a love / hate relationship with math.

. . .  and the giving of hugs to our long-suffering family cat Pangur Ban:

Put me down or I'll purr you to death.

Put me down or I’ll purr you to death.

. . . lots of glorious playing in puddles:

Puddles are Awesome.

Puddles are Awesome.

. . . and, of course, time in the World of Warcraft.

His "desk" is the piano bench.

His “desk” is the piano bench.

At this point of the year, in the middle of winter, I always start looking forward to summer, which involves fewer rainy days, and lots and lots of wonderful vitamin-D producing sunlight.  Today, however, I’m quite happy with the weather we have at hand.  The three youngest Geeklets are drowsy and napping, Yours Truly is feeling comfortably drowsy as well, and the older Geeklets are quietly taking turns urging each other to stay in Wolf-form in the dungeon and stand back so the Shaman can heal them.  Such peace in this house only happens on those rare days when the stars are properly aligned, God is in His Heaven, and all’s right with the world.

Oh yes . . . and it has to be raining.

I am content.

 

