Tags

, , , , , , ,

Does anyone else out there like sniffing old books? We should form a club.

I have a first edition of Mistress Masham’s Repose by T.H. White:

 

Mistress Masham's Repose

 

. . . and a copy of Captains Courageous by Rudyard Kipling which is I’m not sure how old — the latest date I can find in it is 1897, but I kinda doubt it’s that old because it’s in such good condition:

 

Captains Courageous

 

. . . and one of my sisters gave Geeklet #1 a copy of The Story of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting from 1948:

 

Doctor Dolittle

 

Each is in it’s own protective plastic bag, which now and then I open and stick my nose in for a nice deep sniff.  Aaahhh.  The odor of aging print on paper, dead skin cells from everyone who’s ever touched them, and all the history and memories that go along with each reader all contribute to a wonderful and mysterious miasma which will never cease to intrigue me. Yeah, I’m a dork, I know, but this is why physical books will never go out of style. I and all the other book-lovers in the world don’t know what we’d do without hard-copy books to hold, read, display on our shelves, and occasionally sniff.

I love my Kindle . . . but there’s never any real substitute for an actual, physical book.

