Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am not looking forward to school starting.  Last year around this time I couldn’t wait to start first grade homeschool with the Geeklets; this year, I feel like the summer has only been about three weeks long rather than three months.  Time warp!  Where’s the wormhole?  Just let me find my Einstein-Rosen bridge and we can all go back to June and start the summer over.

I think I’ve been watching too much Dr. Who.  (On second thought, that’s impossible.)

It’s funny how time works.  That old saying, “Time flies when you’re having fun,” is absolutely true.  The opposite is true, too:  if you’re ever completely miserable, time slows to a crawl.  It almost stands still.

For example, doing dishes sucks, especially when there’s eight people generating dirty dishes in your house.  Simply filling up the sink with soapy water seems to take half an hour.  However, drink four beers, turn on some danceable music videos for the Geeklets, bust a move with the sponge, and suddenly it’s like you’re having a party in the kitchen.  Time moves faster, the dishes are done in a flash, and before you know it you’re looking for an excuse to keep those yellow dish gloves on longer . . . What else can I scrub in here?  The stove top?  The fridge?  The walls?

It’s important in these situations to not get carried away.  Five beers would be pushing it.  Also, no matter how friendly it looks, do not defrost the freezer if it’s getting close to midnight.  Trust me on that one.

Maybe I should try the four beers method on hoomeschool this fall.

Just kidding!  Just kidding!

