Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I sometimes click through the website modcloth.com.  They have tons of super cute ’40s and ’50s style dresses, and I want one of each.

As much as a dork can be a girly-girl, I am a girly-girl.  I love clothing, shoes, handbags, makeup, and playing with my hair.  I collect jewelry and I experience physical pain on those occasions when I am in love with something that I just can’t buy.  Those occasions are frequent when I’m looking at ModCloth.  I guess I’m just a glutton for punishment.

It took me a long time to figure out what clothing looks good on me and what doesn’t (I was a late bloomer) but somewhere along the line I had an “Ah-ha!” moment and realized that I should be living in the 1950s.

Back in the ’50s, the hourglass shape was it.  Everything was cut to accentuate the defined waist.  If you had what they called The Womanly Figure, you were hot.  Oh yeah.  I should have been born in 1917.

If I had a time machine I’d go back and steal Lucille Ball’s wardrobe from “I Love Lucy.”  Then I’d come back home and spend the rest of my days looking fabulous.

If I had the money, the time, and the patience, I’d get some vintage McCall’s dress patterns and sew myself a new wardrobe.  First of all, though, I’d make a few crinolines.  You can’t wear an “I Love Lucy” dress without a good stiff crinoline underneath.

Then I’d sew myself an “I Love Lucy” dress and I’d wear it here, there, and to Walmart.  I’m serious!  I’d wear it grocery shopping, and diapers shopping, and at the park with my kids, and to the bookstore by myself, and to church with the family, and to the mall, and to the Con next weekend (w00t) and maybe to the Renaissance Festival if the weather is too hot for my Ren costume.  Heck, I’d even wear it around the house.  With pearls!  But not with heels.

I have this idea that I’d be pretty darn happy wearing that dress.  Can a fantastic dress act as a happy pill?  Maybe the female half of the 27 million people in the US who are on antidepressants should wear this dress, instead.  Their insurance would have to cover the cost, if it works.  I propose that I write a proposal to obtain funding for studies on the subject, and submit it to the FDA.  Just let me know if you want to be a guinea pig.

