Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been raining for three days straight.  I’ve been woken up at 4AM two mornings in a row by the Code Red system calling my phone to tell me we’re under a flash flood warning.  The drainage ditch at the end of our front yard is full to overflowing and we can’t tell where the ditch ends and the driveway begins.  There’s two inches of wather in our garage, and this is one of those times I’m glad our house has a block-and-beam foundation wich gives us a foot or so of elevation over ground level.  SuperDad just walked back in the front door; it’s almost 10AM and he spent an hour and a half trying, and failing, to get to work.

And to think, this time last year we were in the middle of a record-breaking drought!

We’ll, I’ll say the vagaries of the weather are nothing if not entertaining.

Speaking of entertainment, there’s something about rainy days that compels me to have a Lord of the Rings movie marathon.  We’re in the middle of The Two Towers right now, at Helm’s Deep.

The Geeklets fight over who gets to be Legolas.  All except M, my one and only Geeklet Girl, who gets her pick of Eowyn, Arwen, and Galadriel.  She’s usually Eowyn; I don’t blame her.  I’d be the chick who killed the Nazgul, too.

Some people I know have insinuated to me that my kids aren’t old enough to watch LOTR because of all the fantasy violence.  My oldest, after all, is only 7.  But SuperDad and I have been reading the books and watching the movies since before the Geeklets were born and we’ve never seen anything inappropriate for kids in there.  It is, after all, fantasy; very obvious fantasy.  In fact, the only stuff in the movies the Geeklets don’t like are the bits with Gollum vs. Smeagol, and Shelob the spider.  (Who doesn’t dislike giant poisonous spiders?)

I think it’s good for kids to watch movies with heroes and morals, where The Good Guys win in the end.  It’s certainly better for them to watch LOTR than SpongeBob Squarepants (obnoxiousness cartoonified) or Dora the Explorer.  With Dora, they might learn a little Spanish.  With LOTR, they might learn to keep going even though all hope seems lost, that true friendship can be a most valuable asset in good times and bad, and that dying for what’s right doesn’t mean you lose; it means you win.

Which lessons seem more valuable to you?

